in the Tradition of Sri K. Pattabhi Jois

 In the ancient Yoga Sutras of Patanjali , Ashtanga Yoga is described as eight-limbed path of yoga. 


  1. Yama, self-control
  2. Niyama, guideline
  3. Asana,  "steady posture"
  4. Pranayama - breath control
  5. Pratyahara - sense withdrawel
  6. Dharana - concentration
  7. Dhyana - meditation
  8. Samadhi - self realization


Ashtanga Yoga in the tradition of Sri K. Pattabhi Jois has a practical approach. It is a dynamic hatha yoga form, where asanas (postures) are carried out in a set sequence and are connected by vinyasas (movement synchronised with the breath).


A devoted regular practice of these asana sequences with the use of a specific breathing technique (ujjayi), energy locks (bandhas) and the observance of fixed focal points (drishtis) can lead to a moving meditation. 


Ashtanga Yoga is made up of three series. You always begin with the primary series, Yoga Chikitsa, (yoga therapy) which detoxifies and rebalances the body. The intermediate series, Nadi Shodana, cleanses the nervous system. Sthira Bhaga samapta, the advanced series, means strength and grace and is divided into four parts:  A, B, C and D. This series requires a high level of strength, flexibility and humility. Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is the root of all modern dynamic hatha yoga stiles.


Ashtanga Yoga is not gymnastics or a teamsport but the method to bring our mind and senses under control. This is the basis for the path to the true self - to yoga. 

We cannot learn yoga from books and old scriptures. They can merely point the way. Yoga has to be practiced to be experienced and understood. 


„Do your practice and all is coming“ - Sri. K. Pattabhi Jois